Paolo Gabrielli\’s Blog

Just another near empty WordPress.com’s weblog. But this is from Paolo ‘pkirk’ Gabrielli.

My ADSL modem router journey

Posted by paolo on 1 April, 2007

I’ve just rebooted my 3Com ADSL1/2/3/+/etc because my ping on Battle.net (I usually play DotA) was something around 500ms and with one of my site was around 1 sec. After the reboot I came back to my previous normal ping of 130-140ms for Battle.net and 70ms with my site.

This the 4th router I’ve used here at home in quite 4 years. I’ve melted a Netgear, I tried a Korean one, an unnamed Taiwanese one (both throw-ed to the trash) and now I’m using this 3Com that I’ve bought for its name. I’m used to keep them turned on 24/7, using them with max 4 computer. Is it so hard in 2k7 to have an ADSL/modem/router that does its job WELL? What I’ve to buy next? A Cisco?

Leave a Reply

 
